About us

The WOAH Regional Commission for Africa


Organisation and missions

Reports and proceedings

WOAH Regional Core Group

WOAH Hall of Fame (past Presidents)


Whereas Regional Representations may be considered as the decentralised executive bodies of the WOAH, the Regional Commissions are constituted by the national Delegates and are entrusted with policy development at regional (continental) level.

The Regional Commission for Africa forms part of the five Regional Commissions created by the WOAH to address the specific problems of the Veterinary Services and to organise the co-operation at regional level.

The Regional Commission’s bureau is constituted of a President, two Vice-presidents and a Secretary-general. It is renewed every 3 years, was established in 2001, and renewed in 2003, 2006, 2009, 2012, 2015, 2018, 2021 and 2024.

Visit the Hall of Fame of past Presidents of the Regional Commission for Africa (since 2001).

The current bureau was elected in May 2024 and consists of the following persons:

Congo (Democratic Republic of)

Dr Honoré N'Lemba Mabela


Learn more
Delegate Uganda

Dr Anna-Rose Ademun-Okurut (she/her)


Learn more
Delegate Morocco

Dr Abderrahman El-Abrak


Learn more

Dr Columba Tera Vakuru

Secretary General

Learn more