Nairobi, Kenya

4th OIE Regional Deans Meeting (Eastern and Southern Africa) Nairobi


In order to enhance regional cooperation on issues of veterinary curriculae and harmonization of qualifications, the fourth meeting of Deans and Principals of Faculties and School of Veterinary Medicine or Science was held in Nairobi Kenya, from 10 to 11 August 2015. The meeting was hosted by the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences (CAVS) of the University of Nairobi (UoN) with the financial and logistical support of the OIE. Chaired by its Dean, Prof. Charles Mulei, the group which for the first time, also included Malawi, reviewed progress made since the February 2014 meeting in Pretoria.

Overview of participants. Picture © P. Bastiaensen (oie) 2015.

The Deans, amongst other issues, resolved that there is a need for a continuous flow of information from one Deans’ meeting to the next. Deans are regularly changed and the proposal was made for Deans hosting the up-coming meeting to take up the chairmanship to ensure a successful implementation of agreed activities in-between (annual) meetings. Further discussions evolved around harmonization of credit units, OIE guidelines and recommendations, twinning programmes, the inclusion or exclusion of ethno-veterinary science in/from the curriculum, the need to formally establish the SEAAVEE to assist in harmonization and quality control of veterinary education in the region, the need to re-establish the e-mail platform, no longer used, and to work with the South African Veterinary Council on issues of regional accreditation and self-evaluation practices and matrixes.

Group picture. Picture © G. Omwega (oie) 2015.


The meeting was attended by Deans and Principals of Veterinary Faculties and Schools/Colleges from Angola, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, as well as by observers from the Kenya Veterinary Board, the One Health Eastern and Central Africa (OHCEA) academic network and the OIE. Only South Africa (Onderstepoort) was unfortunately not represented at the meeting. The new chair of the SEAAVEE is Prof. Rafael Escrivão from the Eduardo Mondlane University in Maputo, Mozambique, who will host the next (5th) meeting in 2016


Overview of participants. Pictures © P. Bastiaensen (oie) 2015.

Social media links


Flickr photo album

Read more
Share this post